Pity Our Children

by Tammy Drennan

Okay, I’m mad again. I try when I write to be passionate yet calm, but every once in a while I can’t help it – I just get really angry.

It’s not as if this stuff is new, but there’s no end to it. 

The state of Montana has decided it’s their civic duty to teach kindergarten children to recognize and learn the proper words for their anatomical private parts.

Maybe we should do away with that euphemism — private parts — if children attend public school, because that’s one place where nothing is private, including your body parts.

I am so bone-weary tired of the way schools, politicians, and an endless array of activists keep jerking children around and pretending they give a hoot about them. I am bone-weary tired of parents who let them do it. I am bone-weary tired of all the people who should know better trying to reform, instead of replace, the sorry houses of exploitation and moral and intellectual dilapidation we call public schools.

How many news stories do we need before we agree something awful is happening in public schools? How many children have to be traumatized, neglected, abused, exploited, miseducated, uneducated, molested, and even killed before we do something serious?

Not only are children treated like lab rats and inmates, they become animals who turn on one another. If you think I’m exaggerating, I suggest you spend some time in a typical middle school. Even teachers speak this strongly about it.

How much longer will this hoax go on? How much longer will we judge schools based on their own PR and the handful of popular kids and their parents who think they’re just peachy keen because they serve their particular interests and desires?

Our prisons are full, our therapists’ offices are full, our legal and illegal drug dealers are doing a booming business. The psychiatric/social service industry specializing in children is growing by leaps and bounds. Traumatized children are analyzed, labeled, drugged and stigmatized almost beyond belief.

We see all this, yet we continue to believe that school is a nice place for most children? Please! Do we value our own pleasures and comforts so much that we’ll sacrifice our own children for them? Do we value our own money so much that we’ll sacrifice children to save it and make it? 

What a pathetic society we’ve become. What a sorry bunch of adults make up this country. Pity the children. Pity the poor children we inflict all this upon.

God save us from ourselves and our children from us.

8 Responses to Pity Our Children

  1. Mia says:

    If only they would have such an interest in teaching reading, writing, and arithmetic.

  2. tdbwd says:

    Mia,

    Yes.. if only. But we know it’s not going to happen. Parents must take back their children, but so many of them have been damaged by the system, they hardly know what to do. That’s where we need to work.

    Very good to hear from you again!

    Tammy

  3. lisa says:

    I don’t know if it’s apathy in parents or a general ignorance of how bad this proposal is. I talked with one parent(not from Montana) who told me that we were blowing the whole thing out of proportion and to not worry. “This is what they have permission slips for.”…what?!
    He is failing to see the bigger picture of adult people not using wisdom when it comes to taking care of the students. These school board officials would rather win an agenda war than better the lives of these children through education. How can parents not see this.
    Sex/gender education is an intimate issue at any age, and I don’t understand why any parent would want strangers teaching a one size fits all “curriculum” to their children. I will in no way shelter my children from sex ed, but there is no way I want strangers teaching it.
    I know it’s cliche to say,and maybe even a little pretentious(I apologize), but I am so glad I home school. I’m not the smartest cookie in the jar, but I do my best. I’m humbled and the fact that my eyes were opened to this travesty happening to children, before mine were old enough to go to school. I used to be one of those people that would say “you’re blowing the whole thing out of proportion”. I shudder to think of my babies(7,6,4) sitting in front of these idiots being brainwashed and dumb down.
    Sorry for the long post, Tammy. I don’t think all teachers are idiots. Any who would willfully go along with this and teach this, to me, they are idiots.

  4. tdbwd says:

    Lisa,

    I welcome long comments!

    One thing I try to keep in mind is the reason I believe the things I do is because I’ve put long thought and consideration into them. But what about people who only think about issues when they hit the news? Their reactions will naturally be knee-jerk and uninformed.

    What’s distrubing is how parents put so little thought into the decisions they make about their kids’ lives, how they trust and even fear anyone who has a title — teacher, principal, social worker, congressman.

    Have parents always lacked confidence to this degree? I don’t think so. Even poor parents throughout history have been prone to tell officials to stuff it when they disagreed with their pronouncements about their children.

    So, what has caused parents to lose their confidence and sense of ownership over their own children and families? Could it be years of public school where they learned you simply cannot be sure you’re right about anything until an authority tells you you are?

    That’s a simplistic explanation of what I’m getting at, but I think there’s something to it.

    Thanks for keeping the conversation going, Lisa.

    Tammy

  5. wintertime says:

    If every government school were closed tomorrow, we could turn them into prisons. It would relieve prison crowding without having to spend a time. The NEA workers could find jobs in these “new” penal institutions.

    ( By the way…I am only half joking.)

  6. tdbwd says:

    Dear Wintertime,

    Hmmm… I know you’re only half joking. On the other hand, you might say that they already are prisons, though the inmates have been sentenced without due process.

    Sometimes when I write harsh things about public schools, I think: “But what about all those people out there singing their praises?” Yet it always comes back to one thing: evidence. Over the past 8-10 years I’ve talked with close to 4000 parents whose stories don’t support the PR. My personal observations don’t support the PR. The news doesn’t support the PR. The stats don’t support the PR. And yet even I occasionally doubt myself because of the PR. It’s that powerful.

    Good to hear from you!

    Tammy

  7. Cindy says:

    Tammy, we are dealing with a large percentage of lost generation of parents in this society. They don’t have a clue of what needs to be done. The only motivation they have is getting the kids out of the house out of my sight. Get out of here to, schools, summer camps, after-school programs you name it they send them and could care less about who receive them or is trainging them . All of these places have been known to do damage to children. Todays’ parents don’t read or keep up with what is going on. How on this earth can we reach them with the truth?

    • tdbwd says:

      Cindy,

      Thanks much for writing. Sadly, you are right that so many parents simply want their kids out of their hair and will leave or send them almost anywhere.

      I’ve been thinking about your end question: How do we reach them? I see three basic types of parents in my roamings and contacts: those who care deeply and act on it, those who care but are not sure what to do, and those who seem clueless about rearing decent kids.

      I’m beginning to think part of the answer is in reaching the second group and thus expanding the first group. If the first group grows enough, the third group will begin to take notice and possibly think harder about what it means to be a parent.

      In a way, it’s a matter of positive peer pressure — we react to the examples of those around us.

      So, how to reach the second group more effectively? That group consists, I think, of two levels of parents — those who care and see a problem and those who care but haven’t quite figured out that there is a problem. I think the best way to start reaching these parents is through their churches. That could be as simple as providing literature for the church to distribute or as complex as offering to do workshops or discussion groups for parents.

      Of course, this is only one of many solutions (I’m going to think about this more and write on it). There’s never (or rarely) only one solution to a problem. People need to reach out in ways that suit their personalities and others need to be reached in ways that suit theirs.

      Thank you for focusing our attention on this. You’ve prompted me to take some time out to think about it more precisely.

      Tammy

Leave a Reply

